Blog #8

In class we have been researching for an upcoming project. The theme of the project is Florida. You can do anything to do with Florida’s history, environment, or culture, so i decided to make a teapot with red mangroves depicted on the side. I started to look into the role of the mangrove in the environment and its a keystone species. The mangroves provide a safe area for fish and other sea life. I started to make my mockette and it was starting to come together. I used an embellishing tool to make the roots in the water, but i was having trouble depicting the leaves. I approached this problem by trying out many different techniques; i tried using the loop tools, the wooden knives, and using stamps. Eventually i decided i would use sgcaffito to make the silhouettes of the leaves. I have started my actual project now as a coil build.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *