Blog #7

In class we have been making small scale sculptures of shoes. I started making my shoe into a solid brick like form. Then I started to form the shape with my fingers. Once the shoes form started to come together I began detailing it. I took a risk by adding small shoe laces, and because they were so small I couldn’t make great connections and they ended up falling off. From this I have learned that next time I need to concentrate more on the connections of small details to my work.  I’ve also learned new techniques of finishing my work. We recently learned how to use terra sigillata to finish our work. It is a type of slip with very fine clay particles. It is applied in coats.Once applied you polish it. Once fired it gives the piece a very slight gloss.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *